Publisher's Outlet Store! ****** 70% OFF Every Book! ****** All new closeouts and remainders!

Woman in the Shadows: A Novel (Clara Vine)

Woman in the Shadows: A Novel (Clara Vine)

Regular price
$16.00
Sale price
$16.00
Regular price
$16.00
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Author: Thynne, Jane

Brand: Ballantine Books

Color: Multicolor

Edition: Reprint

Number Of Pages: 480

Release Date: 06-09-2016

Details: Product Description Perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Jacqueline Winspear’s Journey to Munich, here is the next exciting historical novel featuring Clara Vine, the actress and British spy in prewar Germany who maneuvers through the treacherous Nazi society gathering intelligence—and discovering a deadly secret.   Berlin, 1937. Clara Vine’s star is on the rise. The British-born, half-German actress is about to take her first leading role in a movie produced by the Nazis’ official film studio. Even as she moves through the upper echelons of the Third Reich, Clara never stops acting. At cocktail parties hosted by Joseph and Magda Goebbels, she collects key information for Britain, risking her life for the cause. But soon it is another young woman’s life, and its abrupt end, that draw her attention. Clara knew Anna Hansen as a dancer and artist’s model in the heady days of the cabaret scene. Then she became engaged to an SS officer. Attending one of Hitler’s notorious Bride Schools, she was being groomed as the perfect Nazi wife. When she is found murdered on the school grounds, her death is hushed up, one casualty among many in the lead-up to war. But Clara cannot fathom why Anna’s death would be concealed. Was it simply an embarrassment to the regime, or did Anna know something that hastened her demise? Clara must tread carefully to unravel the truth—for the Gestapo is one step behind her.   Previously published in the U.K. as The Winter Garden Review Praise for Jane Thynne’s first Clara Vine novel, The Scent of Secrets   “A brilliant tale of spies and secrets, of intense psychological drama, of edgy climax and one extraordinary heroine.” —Beatriz Williams, New York Times bestselling author of A Hundred Summers   “A compelling story of love and betrayal in Hitler’s Berlin . . . Peppered with real-life characters, this series offers a fascinating glimpse of the extraordinary world of the Nazi wives.” —Daisy Goodwin, author of The American Heiress   “An alluring blend of thrills, suspense, historic detail, and seduction.” —Susan Elia MacNeal, author of the Maggie Hope series   “An extraordinary, absorbing read with an array of characters so real you’re there with them as war looms, and a pace that sweeps you from page to page. This is indeed a winner!” —Charles Todd, author of Inspector Ian Rutledge Mysteries About the Author Jane Thynne was born in Venezuela and educated in London. After graduating from Oxford, she worked for the BBC,  The Sunday Times, and  The Daily Telegraph. She continues to freelance as a journalist while writing her historical fiction. Her novels, including the Clara Vine series, have been published in French, German, Greek, Turkish, Italian, and Romanian. The widow of Philip Kerr, she has three children and lives in London, where she is working on her next novel. Excerpt. © Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved. Chapter 1 Clara Vine swung her car through the wrought-­iron gates of the villa and braked violently to avoid a peacock crossing the drive. As the bird strutted onto the lawn, dragging its magnificent lapis lazuli tail, Clara was sure she divined an arrogant glint in its beady eye. Still, she was relieved she hadn’t hit it. It wouldn’t do to damage any property belonging to the Reichsminister of Enlightenment and Propaganda, even if that property did happen to be an unwanted pet. The birds were leftovers from Joseph Goebbels’s magnificent Olympics party the previous year, when Peacock Island in the Wannsee had been turned into a fairy-­tale playground for two thousand guests, filled with dancing and fireworks. Film stars, singers, and all kinds of celebrities mingled with diplomats and high-­ranking visitors. The papers had been full of it for days. After the balloons and the banners had been packed away, some of the birds had ended up here, even though Frau Doktor Goebbels detested them. Their jeweled crowns and magnificent displays conceal

EAN: 9780553394405

Languages: English

Binding: Paperback

Item Condition: UsedLikeNew